Reading is RAD!

4 May

Confession: As a student, and even up through my mid-twenties, I never would have described myself as a reader. I enjoyed an occasional required school read, but did not do any just for fun reading.

Well somewhere along the way, a friend passed me A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks (this was long before Mandy Moore sang Only Hope in the movie – I do love that song). It seems as though all I really needed was a push in the right book direction to launch me into avid-readerdom.

Perhaps, you find yourself in the same shoes and you just need the title of a book that you would actually like. Well, you happened on the right blog post!

Here are four of my favorite books of all time:

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – Though it is adolescent fiction, it is one of the most powerful and beautiful stories that I have ever read. It follows a displaced German girl during the final days of World War 2. The most striking thing about its narrative is that it is told by death, which could be off-putting for some, but really is not as dark as it sounds. This story is poetic, hauntingly lovely and deeply thought provoking and one that I will read again and again.

Book Thief

  • Can you Keep a Secret by Sophie Kinsella – By far the funniest book I have ever read. When it first came out, I was sitting in Barnes and Noble reading the first chapter, laughing so hard that I was crying (I was all by myself in this scenario if that helps your mental picture). This story is about a girl with a handful of very guarded secrets that just tumble out one day in the most spectacular fiasco that you could ever imagine. Can You Keep A Secret is the epitome of flaky chick-lit, it is not a deep literary piece, but it is perfect for the beach! #RhymeTime

Can you Keep a Secret

  • The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabriele Zevin – This book just came out last year and it took my bookclub by storm (which is not easy to do, we have had many duds). It is the story of an eccentric widower who just happens to run a small island’s only bookstore. I would describe this book as charming, deep and refreshing; it is the kind of book that makes you feel like you have grown as a person when you finish reading it. I do want to let you know that this book does contain a bit of language in case that is a problem for you.Storied Life
  • Bread And Wine by Shauna Niequist – The subtitle to this is “A Love Letter to Life Around the Table” and that is precisely what this book is. I have a harder time reading nonfiction, but this piece was incredibly moving for me. As I was reading the introduction, I was laughing and crying, I felt like she was writing from my very own heart. This is such a powerful book to me and I am two recipes away from cooking all of the recipes in it! If you know me very well, you know that I am slightly obsessed with Shauna and I am convinced that should we ever meet we would be instant best friends. Go get this book and then make the risotto, it will change your life!

Bread and Wine

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Coffee Gleanings

Wisdom and Hope gained over a cup of coffee.

Lyz Lenz

Just another WordPress.com site

studio kindred

creative space for kinded spirits

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Style Me Pretty : The Ultimate Wedding Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Kara's Party Ideas

I think I'm pretty hillarious, not sure if others always agree...

Hostess with the Mostess®

Fabulous Finds for Contemporary Entertaining

you and mie

let's make things

